• AICA Elects President and Secretary-General

    Date posted: November 10, 2014 Author: jolanta


    International Association of Art Critics Elects President and Secretary-General

    The International Association of Art Critics, or AICA, has reelected Marek Bartelik as president of the organization for the 2014-17 term and Marjorie Allthorpe-Guyton as the new secretary-general for 2014-18. The elections were held last month at the forty-seventh AICA International Congress in South Korea, during which the 2014 Prize for distinguished contribution to the field of art criticism was posthumously awarded to Lee Yil, along with the 2014 Incentive Prize to young critics for Lee Sun Young. AICA was established as an NGO by UNESCO in 1949 to promote independent art criticism around the world. Bartelik is the fifteenth president of the organization while Allthorpe-Guyton is now its first secretary-general from the UK.


    Comments are closed.